A first-time drunk driving arrest is a frightening experience that may leave you worried about your future. While the penalties for first-time DWI can be harsh, an experienced defense lawyer can guide you through the process and help you pursue the best possible outcome.
At Lori Golombek, Attorney at Law, I provide strong DWI defense representation to clients in Westbury, throughout Nassau, Suffolk, Queens, Brooklyn, Manhattan, Bronx, Staten Island. I understand the stress and anxiety you are experiencing, and I am here to be the strong ally you need.
Penalties For First-Time DWI
If convicted of a first-offense DWI in New York, you could face:
- $500 to $1,000 fine
- Up to one year in jail
- Driver’s license revocation for at least six months
- Various surcharges and fees
- Required victim impact classes
Seeking Reduced Charges
It is sometimes possible to get a first-time DWI offense reduced to a DWAI (driving while ability impaired), which is a traffic infraction. This is by no means assured. If appropriate under the circumstances of your case, I can negotiate on your behalf to seek reduced charges or get you into a diversionary program that, if completed, will help you limit the damage this matter has on your life.
Fighting DWI/DUI Charges In New York
With more than 25 years of experience, I are prepared to defend you against first-time DWI/DUI charges in New York. Contact my law office online or by telephone at 516-334-2120 to arrange a free and confidential consultation with an experienced criminal defense lawyer.